Argentina and Patagonia

Argentina, officially the Argentine Republic (Spanish: República Argentina), is a country in South America, constituted as a federation of 23 provinces and an autonomous city. It is the second largest country in South America and eighth in the world by land area and the largest among Spanish-speaking nations, though Mexico, Colombia and Spain are more populous.

Patagonia is a geographic region containing the southernmost portion of South America. Located in Argentina and Chile, it comprises the Andes mountains to the west and south, and plateaux and low plains to the east. The name Patagonia comes from the word patagón used by Magellan to describe the native people whom his expedition thought to be giants.

Visa Requirements

A valid passport is required for Canadian citizens to enter Argentina. Canadian citizens do not need a visa for visits of up to 90 days for tourism and business. Effective December 20th , 2009, Canadian Citizens have to pay a reciprocity fee of US$ 70.00 to enter Argentina.

This fee is valid for a single entry in accordance with Canadian visa reciprocity rules. The fee can be paid in Argentine Pesos or US Dollars in cash or by credit card or with travelers checks. A valid passport is required for Canadian citizens to enter Chile. Canadian visitors will be charged a reciprocity fee at the port of entry, and a small receipt for the fee will be stapled in the last page of the passport. This visa is valid for multiple entries and remains valid until the expiration of the passport. In addition, visitors will be issued a tourist visa consisting of a single sheet of paper placed in the passport. This visa is valid for a stay of up to 90 days. An extension of stay for an additional 90 days is possible, but requires payment of an extension fee. The visa document must be surrendered to immigration authorities upon departure.

This information is subject to change without previous notice. For latest updates on entry/exit requirements for Canadian citizens, please visit any of the following websites:

Local currencies

  • The local currency of Argentina is the Argentine Peso.
  • The local currency of Chile is the Chilean Peso.
  • For information on the current exchange rates, click here
  • US Dollars, Euros and major credit cards are welcome in the most popular tourist areas.

What our clients say!

On his 2010 photo tour to Iguazú

…”Debbie and I have just returned from Argentina and Brazil where we had the great pleasure of having Miguel as a guide for part of the trip. We travel a lot and recognize a great guide when we have one. Miguel has the personality, knowledge and language skills to make a trip truly memorable. We will be returning to South America regularly in the coming years and plan to make Trogon Tours a part of our planning.”

How to Get There and Around

The following airlines can take you to Argentina and Patagonia. Please bear in mind that Patagonia is a geographical region shared by Argentina and Chile. Most of our tours take place on the Argentine side of Patagonia, but the information provided below is valid for both Argentina and Chile. Click on any of the airlines’ name to access their web sites.


There is a very low risk of yellow fever in the northernmost provinces of Argentina. If you plan to visit this area, please consult your physician about the necessity of getting inoculations against this disease.


Spanish is the official language of Argentina and Chile. English is widely understood and spoken in the most popular tourist areas.


Electricity in Argentina is 220 volts, 50 Hz. The most commonly used electric sockets are three-pin flat type ones. Some old buildings still use two-pin round ones, so a universal plug adaptor is highly recommended. Electricity in Chile is 220volts , 50 Hz. The most commonly used electric sockets are the round three-pin (in-line) and round two-pin ones. A universal plug adaptor is highly recommended.