Pioneering nature conservation in Latin America, Argentina established its first national park in 1922, following USA and Canada. Nowadays, 9,000 square kilometres (3,475 sq. mi.) of land and 4,000 square kilometres (1,544 sq. mi.) of marine ecosystems are protected within 36 national parks, covering a wide variety of habitats from subtropical to subantarctic.

Argentina’s continental landmass is 2,766,890 km² (1,068,302 sq mi). Spanning east and south from the Andes to the South Atlantic Ocean, Argentina borders Paraguay and Bolivia to the north, Brazil and Uruguay to the northeast, and Chile to the west and south.

Argentina also claims 969,464 km² (374,312 sq mi) of Antarctica, a territory known as Antártida Argentina, overlapping other claims made by Chile (Antártica Chilena) and the United Kingdom (British Antarctic Territory). All such claims have been suspended by the Antarctic Treaty of 1961.

Travel Advice

Please send us an e-mail to request for specific travel advise for this destination.